• Washington Trust Bancorp, Inc.
email this
  • Washington Trust Chairman Receives Distinguished Eagle Scout Award
    Company Release - 07/01/2009 16:23

    PROVIDENCE, R.I.--(BUSINESS WIRE)-- Washington Trust Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, John C. Warren, has been awarded the Distinguished Eagle Scout Award (DESA) from the National Eagle Scout Association (NESA); it is the organization's highest award. Warren received the award from the Narragansett Council and the Boy Scouts of America at the 2009 Eagle Scout Recognition Dinner held recently in Warwick, RI. Warren is among a select group of Eagle Scouts to receive the Distinguished Eagle Scout Award, as there have been only a little more than 2,000 awards presented since its establishment in 1969.

    The Distinguished Eagle Scout Award is the only Scout service recognition that depends on one's association with Scouting as a youth. It is granted to Eagle Scouts who, after 25 years, continue to distinguish themselves in their life work and have shared their talents and voluntary service within their communities.

    Paul J. Choquette, Jr., member of Narragansett Council Executive Board and past recipient of the DESA stated, "We like to say that an Eagle Scout is always an Eagle Scout and John Warren is the epitome of that belief. He has followed the Scout law and contributed to his community in many, many ways."

    Warren, who serves as Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of The Washington Trust Company, has spent more than 30 years in the financial services industry. A dedicated community servant, he serves on numerous boards, including the Rhode Island Public Expenditure Council, the Rhode Island Commodores, the Narragansett Council - Boy Scouts of America, the Greater Providence Chamber of Commerce, Rhode Island for Community & Justice, and The United Way of Rhode Island, where he is chairman. He also serves on the board of trustees of The Westerly Hospital, where he is assistant secretary, and as Incorporator for South County Hospital Foundation. He has been recognized for his leadership with awards, including: the 2004 Humanitarian Award from the National Conference for Community and Justice, the 2004 Encore Award for Support of the Arts from the Arts & Business Council of Rhode Island, the 2005 Community Service Award from Leadership Rhode Island and the 2006 Business Leadership Award from Providence Business News. He is the recipient of the United Way's Alexis de Tocqueville Society Philanthropy Award; the Senator John H. Chafee Distinguished Citizen Award; and the New England Banking Institute'sThomas F. McLaughlin Award.

    The Distinguished Eagle Scout Award has gained prominent standing among Scouting recognitions. Among those who wear the gold-filled Eagle Scout pendant suspended from a red, white, and blue ribbon are: 38th President Gerald R. Ford; former astronaut Neil Armstrong; late actor Ozzie Nelson; H. Ross Perot, founder of Electronic Data Systems and The Perot Group; United States Secretary of Defense Donald H. Rumsfeld; retired General William C. Westmoreland; retired Admiral Elmo R. Zumwalt Jr.; film director Steven Spielberg; former FBI Director William S. Sessions; Donald F. Wright, senior vice president of the Times Mirror Co.; former New Jersey Senator and NBA player William W. Bradley; and former Secretary of Education Lamar Alexander.

    Narragansett Council recipients the Distinguished Eagle Scout Award, include: Thomas F. Gilbane; William J. Gilbane; Paul J. Choquette, Jr.; Chief Justice Frank J. Williams; Andrew M. Erickson; and Marc S. Weinberg, M.D.

    Selection of recipients is made by the Distinguished Eagle Scout Award Committee of the Board of Regents of NESA, all of whom are recipients of the DESA. Not all nominations acted upon by the award committee are approved. A substantial percentage of nominations are declined.

    The Washington Trust Company is a subsidiary of Washington Trust Bancorp, Inc., a $2.9 billion corporation headquartered in Westerly, Rhode Island. Founded in 1800, Washington Trust is the oldest community bank in the nation and is the largest independent bank headquartered in Rhode Island. A state-chartered bank, Washington Trust offers a full range of financial services, including business banking, personal banking, and wealth management and trust services through its offices located in Rhode Island, Southeastern Connecticut and Massachusetts. The Corporation's common stock trades on The NASDAQ Global Select(R) Stock Market under the symbol WASH. Web site address: www.washtrust.com.

    Photos/Multimedia Gallery Available: http://www.businesswire.com/cgi-bin/mmg.cgi?eid=5999191&lang=en

        Source: Washington Trust Company

    Contact: Washington Trust Company Charlene P. Ferranti, 401-348-1363 Public Relations Officer cpferranti@washtrust.com