Toggle SGML Header (+)

Section 1: 8-K (8-K)






Washington, D.C. 20549







Pursuant to Section 13 or 15(d)

of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934

Date of Report (Date of earliest event reported): May 23, 2019




(Exact name of registrant as specified in its charter)




DELAWARE   001-33099   32-0174431
(State or other jurisdiction   (Commission   (IRS Employer
of incorporation)   File Number)   Identification No.)


55 East 52nd Street, New York, New York   10055
(Address of principal executive offices)   (Zip Code)

Registrant’s telephone number, including area code: (212) 810-5300

(Former name or former address, if changed since last report.)



Check the appropriate box below if the Form 8-K filing is intended to simultaneously satisfy the filing obligation of the registrant under any of the following provisions:


Written communications pursuant to Rule 425 under the Securities Act (17 CFR 230.425)


Soliciting material pursuant to Rule 14a-12 under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.14a-12)


Pre-commencement communications pursuant to Rule 14d-2(b) under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.14d-2(b))


Pre-commencement communications pursuant to Rule 13e-4(c) under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.13e-4(c))

Securities registered pursuant to Section 12(b) of the Act:


Title of each class





Name of each exchange

on which registered

Common Stock, $.01 par value   BLK   New York Stock Exchange
1.250% Notes due 2025   BLK25   New York Stock Exchange

Indicate by check mark whether the registrant is an emerging growth company as defined in Rule 405 of the Securities Act of 1933 (§230.405 of this chapter) or Rule 12b-2 of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 (§240.12b-2 of this chapter).

Emerging growth company  ☐

If an emerging growth company, indicate by check mark if the registrant has elected not to use the extended transition period for complying with any new or revised financial accounting standards provided pursuant to Section 13(a) of the Exchange Act.  ☐




Item 5.07.

Submission of Matters to a Vote of Security Holders.

On May 23, 2019, BlackRock, Inc. (the “Company”) held its 2019 Annual Meeting of Shareholders (the “Annual Meeting”). The following are the voting results on each matter submitted to the Company’s shareholders at the Annual Meeting. All director nominees were elected (Item 1). The proposal to approve the compensation of the named executive officers as disclosed in the Company’s proxy statement, through a non-binding advisory vote, was approved (Item 2). Additionally, shareholders ratified the appointment of Deloitte LLP as the Company’s independent registered public accounting firm for the fiscal year 2019 (Item 3). Further, the shareholder proposal regarding production of an annual report on certain trade association and lobbying expenditures was not approved (Item 4), and the shareholder proposal regarding a simple majority vote requirement was not approved (Item 5).

Below are detailed voting results on each matter voted on and described in detail in the Company’s definitive proxy statement for the Annual Meeting.

Item 1 – Election to the Company’s Board of Directors of the following 18 nominees:


     For    Against    Abstentions    Broker Non-Votes

Bader M. Alsaad

   130,408,007    192,691    128,649    11,933,064

Mathis Cabiallavetta

   129,641,535    958,080    129,732    11,933,064

Pamela Daley

   129,902,680    705,533    121,134    11,933,064

William S. Demchak

   129,972,709    627,676    128,962    11,933,064

Jessica P. Einhorn

   129,434,925    1,167,806    126,616    11,933,064

Laurence D. Fink

   129,329,204    1,244,217    155,926    11,933,064

William E. Ford

   129,803,786    792,757    132,804    11,933,064

Fabrizio Freda

   130,336,760    265,111    127,476    11,933,064

Murry S. Gerber

   127,586,044    3,010,722    132,581    11,933,064

Margaret L. Johnson

   129,846,640    756,274    126,433    11,933,064

Robert S. Kapito

   129,558,716    1,047,194    123,437    11,933,064

Cheryl D. Mills

   129,388,018    1,214,621    126,708    11,933,064

Gordon M. Nixon

   127,684,977    2,911,810    132,560    11,933,064

Charles H. Robbins

   130,414,758    186,154    128,435    11,933,064

Ivan G. Seidenberg

   128,661,422    1,932,852    135,073    11,933,064

Marco Antonio Slim Domit

   127,686,464    2,908,783    134,100    11,933,064

Susan L. Wagner

   130,285,910    319,708    123,729    11,933,064

Mark Wilson

   130,440,088    159,534    129,725    11,933,064

Item 2 – Approval, in a non-binding advisory vote, of the compensation for named executive officers:








Broker Non-Votes


  5,590,496   193,078   11,933,064    


Item 3 – Ratification of the appointment of Deloitte LLP as the Company’s independent registered public accounting firm for the fiscal year 2019:








Broker Non-Votes


  1,377,531   141,194   0          

Item 4 – Shareholder proposal regarding production of an annual report on certain trade association and lobbying expenditures:








Broker Non-Votes


  102,053,944   341,922   11,933,064    

Item 5 – Shareholder proposal regarding simple majority vote requirement:








Broker Non-Votes


  120,700,860   203,684   11,933,064    


Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the Registrant has duly caused this report to be signed on its behalf by the undersigned hereunto duly authorized.


BlackRock, Inc.
By:   /s/ R. Andrew Dickson III            
  R. Andrew Dickson III
  Corporate Secretary

Date: May 24, 2019

(Back To Top)