Toggle SGML Header (+)

Section 1: 8-K (FORM 8-K)



Washington, D.C. 20549







Pursuant to Section 13 OR 15(d) of the

Securities Exchange Act of 1934


Date of Report (Date of earliest event reported): May 21, 2015


Eastern Virginia Bankshares, Inc.

(Exact name of registrant as specified in its charter)



Virginia   000-23565   54-1866052

(State or other jurisdiction

of incorporation)




File Number)



(IRS Employer

Identification No.)




330 Hospital Road, Tappahannock, Virginia   22560
(Address of principal executive offices)   (Zip Code)


Registrant’s telephone number, including area code: (804) 443-8400




Check the appropriate box below if the Form 8-K filing is intended to simultaneously satisfy the filing obligation of the registrant under any of the following provisions:


¨ Written communications pursuant to Rule 425 under the Securities Act (17 CFR 230.425)


¨ Soliciting material pursuant to Rule 14a-12 under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.14a-12)


¨ Pre-commencement communications pursuant to Rule 14d-2(b) under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.14d-2(b))


¨ Pre-commencement communications pursuant to Rule 13e-4(c) under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.13e-4(c))




Item 5.07 Submission of Matters to a Vote of Security Holders.


Eastern Virginia Bankshares, Inc. (the “Company”) held its Annual Meeting of Shareholders on May 21, 2015. A quorum of the common shareholders was present, consisting of a total of 10,255,323 shares. Matters voted upon were (1) the election of fourteen directors to serve for terms of one year each expiring at the 2016 Annual Meeting of Shareholders, (2) approval on an advisory (non-binding) basis of the compensation of the Company’s named executive officers, and (3) ratification of the appointment of Yount, Hyde & Barbour, P.C. as independent registered public accountant of the Company for 2015.


The final number of votes cast with respect to each matter is set out below.


Election of Directors               


Director   For   Withheld   Non-Votes
W. Rand Cook      7,786,334         165,358      2,303,631
F.L. Garrett, III      6,792,643      1,159,049      2,303,631
John F. Biagas      7,781,673         170,019      2,303,631
W. Gerald Cox      7,789,640         162,052      2,303,631
Michael E. Fiore, P.E.      7,292,594         659,098      2,303,631
Boris M. Gutin      7,784,477         167,215      2,303,631
Ira C. Harris, Ph.D., CPA      7,300,612         651,080      2,303,631
Eric A. Johnson      6,804,166      1,147,526      2,303,631
W. Leslie Kilduff, Jr.      7,784,534         167,158      2,303,631
William L. Lewis      6,571,193      1,380,499      2,303,631
Charles R. Revere      7,759,630         192,062      2,303,631
Joe A. Shearin      7,765,797         185,895      2,303,631
Leslie E. Taylor, CPA      7,790,716         160,976      2,303,631
Jay T. Thompson, III      7,765,980         185,712      2,303,631


    For   Against   Abstention   Non-Votes
Advisory (Non-Binding) Approval of the Compensation of the Company's Named Executive Officers      7,631,937         159,951      159,894      2,303,541


    For   Against   Abstention   Non-Votes
Ratification of the Appointment of Yount, Hyde & Barbour, P.C. as the Company's Independent Registered Public Accountant      10,226,821           10,076        18,426                    -   







Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the registrant has duly caused this report to be signed on its behalf by the undersigned hereunto duly authorized.


Dated:    May 22, 2015    
  By:  /s/ J. Adam Sothen
    J. Adam Sothen
    Executive Vice President & Chief Financial Officer



(Back To Top)